Make It From Scratch

As many who know me, I am a big advocate of the cooking from scratch camp. I cook and bake and feed people all the time.

I share tips and recipes, I invite peeps over to my kitchen to teach them and I am a active moderator in the Cooking From Scratch Group on Ravelry.

Let me say, I have stacks of cookbooks, on the counter, in the cupboard, in boxes out in the garage…and yet I don’t sing all their praises. This cookbook gets my praise.

The Homemade Pantry: 101 Foods You Can Stop Buying & Start Making is a great book. It has all the basics to get you started on the road to cooking from scratch without being intimidated.

If you are an enthusiast like me, you’ll love it, if you’re a novice that has basic kitchen skills and you’re willing to try, you’ll love it. This cookbook is very approachable and hands on. This isn’t about fancy-pants stuff that takes forever with specialty ingredients.

This is just making basic stuff, but its your own, not some giant food corporation that puts who-knows-what preservatives in it.  Minus the packaging and advertising expenses too.

Try making your own graham crackers or cheese or bread and soup or chocolate sandwich cookies, you’ll see.

Here is my white sandwich bread, which turned out beautifully with very little effort. One bowl, two bread pans, one bamboo spoon, that’s all I had to clean up. I kneaded it in the bowl, didn’t even get the counter dirty.

I started it, put the bowl in the microwave to proof and took a long walk with my friend Jeff.  Came back, turned the oven on to bake my Triple Chip Cookies, turned the bread out of the bowl, shaped it into two loaves, stuck them in the loaf pans and set them on the stove top.

By the time the cookies were done, the loaves had risen beautifully from the warm stove top, and I popped them in the stove and set the timer.

26 minutes later, Beautiful Bread. Easy Peasy.

Go get this book: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_1_8?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=homemade+pantry&sprefix=homemade%2Caps%2C225

2 responses to “Make It From Scratch

  1. I’m 138 on the request list with the Washington County Library system. It might be a long wait to try it out. 😉

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

