My Knitting Hero’s

My first knitting hero would have to be my Grandma H. who taught me to knit in the first place.  (Personally, I think all teachers should be called Hero’s, but that’s a subject for another day.) Grandma taught me how to cast on, knit and cast off when I was fourteen years old.  Even though there were long stretches where I didn’t knit, I kept returning to it again and again because knitting is like therapy for me.

After Grandma H. it would have to be my good friend and Make One LYS owner, Melissa.  She is the reason I am a better knitter today than I was five years ago.  And not just because she taught me some knitting techniques or gave me good advice or answered all my questions or showed me how to do stuff either. (She did do all that.)

She’s my Knitting Hero because she is kind and patient and always willing to wait until I reach the point of readiness or of “getting it” even if that takes a while.

She also is my friend and therefore entitled to tell me straight up when I’m about to commit some act of knitting stupidity.  Being able to tell someone they are about to be stupid  is a great attribute, but not one everyone gets to employ, its acquired over time and you can’t find it in a book.

Melissa knitting 

One response to “My Knitting Hero’s

  1. Melissa is awesome!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

