First Yarns

For those of you not on Facebook and haven’t seen this already…I give you my first hand-spun yarn.

These are very over-twisted because I really need to master the art of letting go, and really lumpy, because I don’t let go very evenly, but its a start.

The yarn is lying on the batt that I spun it from, so you can see its starting point…from fluffy stuff to twisted stuff resembling yarns.

I was given, not one, but two wheels and recently learned to spin and ply.  The one pictured is a Country Craftsman wheel which is modeled after a traditional old world wheel commonly called the Saxony.  Since this wheel looks like an old-fashioned one, its sometimes used for Living History or historical re-enactment events.

Unfortunately, the wheel was warped and needed some major TLC beyond my means, which left me sad and disappointed because I had become excited over the opportunity to learn to spin…and then couldn’t.  So I was at Urban Fiber Arts one knit nite telling this story and asking what to do (I was told it was not worth the expense) when a very kind man quietly drop spindling away spoke up and told me he’d give me an extra wheel he had.

Well.  I was beyond astonished.  I mean, its quite something to be given one wheel, and here is another offer!  Long story short, he ended up giving me and my friend Rachel two Ashford Traditional wheels, both with some missing parts, so that one good working wheel could be sorted from the two.

Here is a pix of myself and Rachel at Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival on her birthday.

Rachel fixed and oiled and sorted and then brought me the wheel and assorted batts and started teaching me to spin.  Later, I hauled it down to Make One and had some more lessons with Melissa.  Eventually, I started to get the hang of it.  Now its all practice, at least that’s what they say.

Tazo lying on a green batts of fiber that Rachel gave me…I gave her bunches of sock yarns in exchange.  It was a win-win as she wanted to make a blanket that uses all sorts of leftover bits and I had tons.

3 responses to “First Yarns

  1. I am the last person to ask, I’m still a newbie! I did try to soak, and hang mine from the shower head with a full water bottle hung off the end, as a weight to stretch it out and I could not see that it made much difference.

  2. Jean

    Thanks for sharing your first spun skein. Congratulations.

    I purchased a hand spindle at the Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival and am having a great time learning to spin. My first batches were over twisted too. I was wondering whether or not you have found any remedy for this after the twist was set?

  3. I’ve just been clicking around and I landed on your site. Congrats on your new wheel skeins!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

