Log Cabin Slog-Along is over

Some of you know, I’ve been knitting on this darned Log Cabin Blanket for, like, EVER.  Finally I hauled it out of the closet where its been languishing for a year and finished the thing.

So glad to have this thing done.  Although now that I look at it, I may pick up and knit on a mitered border.  Maybe.  Or Not.

Beemer Guy may not realize this, but I bought all the yarn for this from his gift card to me Christmas 2007.  So now you know it was put to good use.

Now, back to some socks and shawls. I am knitting a Haruni Shawl for a sample for a new local alpaca yarn company.  Caress Luxury Yarns from Albany uses locally sourced alpaca and she dyes the colors after the fiber comes back from wherever it goes to get turned into yarns.

I was lucky enough to get some Suri Baby Alpaca to knit with and it is Noms, or Yummy, as far as yarn goes.  Glides so smoothly thru my hands, over the needles, it practically knits itself!  Well, not really, but you know what I mean, if you’re a knitter.

Did I mention I got some fiber in exchange for knitting the Haruni shawl?  Look, pretties to spin:

Then, because of Melissa, at Make One, (my local yarn shop) I sort of started a sock knitting streak.  She started it, I say!

This is my third pair of socks I’ve started this month.  One pair are finished, the other pair 80% done and then I just had to start these.  I don’t know what’s got into me about the socks, Melissa said she needed new ones and I saw hers and I just started in.

Its an obsession, I know.  At least its an obsession that produces beautiful things…eventually.

One response to “Log Cabin Slog-Along is over

  1. oooh – your log cabin is beautiful! Congratulations on a job well done!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

