Sock Summit, Now with More Awesomeness!

I have to hand it to the Sock Summit Team, I wondered how it could be even more awesome than the first one, because the first one was Really Awesome, but they did it, made it even More Awesome!

First, the registration went smoothly with no crashes and tearing out of hair or other angst-y moments.

Second, tons more classes!  I even got to take a class myself, which in itself is very cool.

Third, a bunch of lectures and demos, which were very interesting and informative or just made you laugh out loud.

Fourth, the vendor selection was Fantastic!

It seemed to me that there was a bunch more Indie Dyers and Sellers of Knitting Related Stuff there than last time.  This was a good thing.  Which meant there was less commercial vendors there, like stores and such.  Not that there is anything wrong with that, I just appreciated the focus on the Independent Sellers.

Yarn pictured from Wonderland Dyeworks.

Fifth, the PDX Knitbloggers got to set up a little meet-up area, which was great because I knew were to go to find my knit buddies.

Sixth, I was a volunteer, which gave me some new opportunities to help out and gave me a cool green volunteer pass which allowed me access to places the normal attendee didn’t get to go.  (For instance, entering the Marketplace before it opened, not shopping, mind, just entering.  And I discovered where the teacher’s lounge was too. )

Seventh, I attended two lectures, one as a volunteer and one because I was a volunteer.  Yeah, that makes sense.  One lecture I was sent as a volunteer, the other was the “reward” so to speak, for being a volunteer.

Eighth, I met new peeps and made new friends and had fun hanging with my old friends, especially trtgrl, who is a kick to hang out with!

HAY by Rachel, hand-spun yarn and hand-dyed silk hankies in Red Riding Hood.  

Rachel and I went out to dinner together and got along like a “house afire” as they say, and I hope she is one of my new friends.  Aside from her fantastic products and ridiculously low prices, she is a terrific person.  You should totally get some fiber from her!  (HAY stands for Hand-spun Art Yarn.)

Ninth, Cool New Sock Yarns and Knitting Patterns, Swag and a Free Book were Acquired!

My Grandmother’s Knitting, signed by the author, Larissa Brown

My Grandmother’s Knitting is a charming book with the first half full of stories from all kinds of famous knitters and designers, such as Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed and Norah Gaughan,  Creative Director for Berrocco and many others.

The second half of the book focuses on updated designs based on some classics, such as your Grandmother might have knit.  I especially like the 1940’s styled Bed-Jacket styled shrug by Joan McGowan (who had a booth at the Summit btw) and was amused by the remake of the timeless slippers, complete with pom-pom on top by the author of the Gin and Tonic blog.

Tenth, My Honey Bunny went shopping at the Marketplace for my birthday!  He did an awesome job of picking out special things for me, and wouldn’t let me see until he had gone around the Marketplace twice, making sure to get all the freebies he could too 🙂

Most of the swag acquired at Sock Summit  II 

One of the cool items pictured here is the charting software from Intwined Studio, which I am playing with and trying to figure out how to use.   The class I took “How to Write Up an Awesome Sock Pattern” by Kate Atherly who is the Tech Editor at Knitty.com was really helpful and informative to me.

She taught us some great things about pattern writing as well as mentioning how the use of charting software is a terrific time-saver.  Intwined Pattern Studio lets you create any type of chart and it instantly converts it to a written pattern as well.  This is a very cool thing, and after hearing several class members say how great it was, I had to have it.

All in all it was an exhaustingly fabulous time and I came home with plenty of stuff to keep me busy for a long while.

Sock Summit Shopping-Loot! 

2 responses to “Sock Summit, Now with More Awesomeness!

  1. I bought the Intwined software, too. I’d been thinking about it for a while, but seeing a demo really helped. And the $4 off coupon in the show book was a great incentive!

  2. stitch jones

    It was great seeing you on Friday! Have fun knitting up the Sock Summit haul 😀

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

