The Wonder That Is Applied I-Cord

Don’t you just hate edges that curl?   Especially when you followed the directions and wet blocked using wires and pins?

And the edge still curls?

Or you think you’ve made a clever modification to prevent your edge curling on the charcoal and burgandy Cosette Wrap, like knitting moss stitch for six rows instead of garter stitch for four rows…which clearly didn’t work on the Purple Cedar Leaf edging…and it still curls after wet blocking and drying!  Bah!

So desperately curling edges call for desperate knitting fix measures!

Applied I-Cord Edges!  Take that you curly edges!  I dare you to curl now!

Ahhh, Peace at last.  Now, I’m happy 🙂

I took my Applied I-cord instructions from Elizabeth Zimmerman’s

“Knitting Around” book where she explains I-Cord in several different ways on many different projects.

And from Nancie Wiseman’s book on Finishing Techniques, I like the nice large, clear photographed illustrations in this book.

The one thing she doesn’t make clear is that if you are going in and adding Applied I-Cord to an already finished object, you need to pick up live stitches again.  Some advocate for picking up a set number at a time, but I choose to pick them all up, because I am not fond of stopping and starting my projects.

Just get it over with, and pick them all up, that’s what I say!

I start from the wrong side and pick up from behind the front loop, that way you’re ready to do the Applied I-Cord from the front side when you’re done picking up all those stitches along the edge.

There now, isn’t that way better???

One response to “The Wonder That Is Applied I-Cord

  1. That is annoying! Still looks pretty though!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

