Now with even more Lavender!

This weekend Joanne and I went to the Master Gardner’s “Spring Garden Fair” in Canby where I somehow managed to acquire three new (to me) lavenders for my collection.

I love lavender, its easy to grow, can be used for everything from sachets to cooking and even the stems and leaves smell good.  Royal Velvet is a good culinary lavender, such as adding to lemonade and to sugar to make lavender sugar, which I’m thinking of trying with shortbread sugar cookies.

Seriously, what’s not to like about lavender?  Hidcote Pink is good flowering border lavender with a softer, sweet scent good for sachets and attracting butterflies.

Its also one of the only herbs I know of that can both be ingested and used topically for healing various ailments.  Goodwin Creek has these velvet-y flocked leaves that you just want to touch, and they have a soft sweet scent.  It grows a nice long stem and is good for drying, and crafting with.

Since their are over 200 varieties of lavender to be had, I am nowhere near acquiring them all.

See hereand here for more lavender information if you’re interested in acquiring your own collection.

In reading these for myself,  I have learned that in addition to the lavender named “Melissa” which I had to acquire as it is my sister’s name, there is also one named “Sarah” which I did not know about…I have to have it, that’s my niece!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

