Keep Portland Twisted!

Yesterday Chris and I embarked on a bit of Portland’s Yarn Crawl. There was 15 shops participating, and we just visited five of them.

It started out innocently enough, when I said I wanted to just visit the two shops I’d never been to before…and spiraled out of control from there.

First, we went to Gossamer.  Where I forgot to take pix.  They have an interesting mixture of craft supplies.  If I had kids, I would be taking them there, as the store is a Waldorf School Supply Store.  Below is one of their offerings:

Raindrop Knitting Club

This is a drop-in Knitting group for grade school children. The group meets every Thursday after school from 3:00pm-4.45pm. First meeting for new & returning students is 15.00 and includes needles and yarn for new students & 2 balls of yarn for returning students. Fee after that per week is: 5.00 each time. Susan Wilcox

We purchased some felt in two thicknesses for backing to sew buttons onto knitting projects.  The gal their was really nice, taking the time to explain things for us.  It would be fun to take my 7 year old niece there, she would have a grand time with knitting, making a wand, or listening during story hour.

Next up we went to Twisted.   Which is already one of my favorite yarn shops.  They had a new knit sample/pattern from Sivia, which I lusted after.  Heart to Heart.   I hear my friend Trtlgrl got one.  But I was with a guy, who banned me from any such pink nonsense.  I will have to sneak back later.

After that we headed up to Vancouver, to StitchCraft, the other yarn shop I’d never been to.   It had good lighting and had a pair of socks knit out of 80% angora which Chris liked.  I made the mistake of telling him about how my friend Major Knitter made her guy a pair of cashmere socks…I’m afraid I’ve put ideas into his head!

From there we headed all the way out to The Knitting Bee, because I had my Blue Heron Rayon Metallic Multnomah on and wanted to show it to Jamie in person.  But first, we had to do something about rumbly tumblys.  And Helvetia was the answer.


I have never been there, that there wasn’t motorcycles out front.  The place is an icon and people drive for miles out into the Helvetia countryside to eat a cheeseburger…


and onion rings.  They have real onions in their onion rings.  I put them in my cheeseburger every other bite!

Here is a sampling of the signs they have on the wall:

here is what it looks like inside:

Burp…excuse me!  O.K. Now we’re ready to take on the Knitting Bee!

Jamie was in!  She loved my sparkly Multnomah and showed around the shop telling people that it was made with just one skein of the Rayon Metallic.  I think we won over a few new converts.  We enjoyed a nice chat, looked around the shop and then I found out she carried some of Stephen West’s patterns, so I got a Daybreak Shawl pattern before we went.

Our last stop was For Yarn’s Sake were I ran into some of my peeps!

Stephanie and Debbie were there having a little Pico Accuardi trunk show.  They have some new sliver sparkly yarn.  And Gail, sitting there spinning.  It was a nice way to end the crawl.


2 responses to “Keep Portland Twisted!

  1. Why, Yes! Everywhere we went, DH scored a spot in front!

  2. DH

    Don’t forget about the great parking karma we had all day!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

