The Artist Studio Tour

For my friends on Ravelry ATC Swap.

This is my studio.

The dining room.

Here is where I create amazing and wonderful things.

Until company comes over.

Basic Supplies Box:

Alene’s glue, scissors, decorative edge scissors, cat stamp and ink pad, gel pens, mechanical pencil, silver marker, VersaMarker, corner rounder, exact o knife & extra blades, embossing tool, pencil sharpener, water mister, walnut ink, and four different kinds of adhesives.

I especially like my double sticky foam bits.

Don’t set up your Arteests Studio without these!

Trays:

Here is one of my many white trays.  I have a whole stack of them and use them for everything, especially beading.  If beading is involved, I lay a cloth down on it first so things don’t slide off so easy.

They are handy to keep clusters of materials that I am using for my current project.   A tray is easier to move around than a pile of stuff.

This tray is mostly purple stuff, for making Aubergine ATC’s this month.

Other Art Supplies:

Always keep a good supply of crafting and watercolor and scrapbook papers around, you never know what you’ll need:)

Always have a decent paper cutter.  And Golden Acrylic Medium.

Always keep an big old plastic cup and washcloth dedicated to painting around.

The rest is personal preference:  stamps, inks, chalks, embossing powders, watercolor paints, acrylic paints, pearl ex, paint brushes, and various other applicators.  Smocks are optional;)

Crafter’s Library:

Its important to keep inspiration around you in the form of crafting books, catalogs and magazines.

Magazines come under two categories:  magazines you keep, and magazines you rip into.

Quilter’s Corner:

I quilt and sew stuff too.  Easy stuff.  I don’t do most patterns and clothing stuff.  Although I’ve been wanting to make simple drawstring jammy bottoms for over a year now.

See that red, white and blue material so carefully washed, dried, ironed and folded on the cart to the left?  That is the jammy material I bought last year…and I’ve quilted instead because I’m a chicken.

I always wash, dry and iron with sizing all my material before using.

I don’t like wonky shrinkage surprises.

This here is Bead Central:

Beads, beads, and more beads.

Trays, clothes, wire, coated wire, colored wire, silver wire, cooper wire, fine sanding paper, chasing hammer, pounding plate, pliers and all the other tools too numerous to mention.

Under the beads are three boxes of quilting fabric and quilts in progress.  Under the cart is “The Star Box” for folding those origami Moravian stars.

This ends The Artist Studio Tour, any questions?

Yes?

There’s more stuff in the hall closet, what of it?

2 responses to “The Artist Studio Tour

  1. Donna

    So your’s is nice and organized. What till you see pics of mine. I really need to get in and rearrange and settle things again. Right now it looks like a tornado hit. I’ll post before and after pics.

  2. Zoe

    Looks like a pretty good set up! I’ll be sure to add mine to our ATC Swap post! You’ll feel very fortunate!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

