Obsessed with Multnomahs

Ok, I really, really like knitting these.  They seem to fit all my requirements for the perfect knitting project.

First, they’re a great way to use that hand-dyed fingering (aka sock) yarn I’ve been hoarding.

Second, they are mostly  mindless knitting for me, so I can knit and socialize without messing things up.

Third, they are a size I like:   not too big, sit nice on the shoulders, don’t have long dangle-y bits getting in the way of nor falling into stuff.

Fourth, they don’t take a bunch of yardage, therefore, they don’t become an “Epic Project” (to borrow the description from Major Knitter).

Fifth, they look equally nice in a variety of yarns and colorways.

This is my second one, knit in Blue Heron glitter rayon, in the Garnet colorway.  For my next one, I am thinking of combining two sock yarns, one for the body and another for the feather and fan border.

Why, yes, I am planning to make another one!  Did I mention that I really, really like making Multnomah?

2 responses to “Obsessed with Multnomahs

  1. I like to wear my sideways. My next one is going scrappy, using up leftover bits of Abstract Fiber merino/tencel blend.

  2. Beautiful! I can see why you like them so much. Can’t wait to see the next one with the two colors. That will be stunning. How do you wear them – over the shoulders or wrapped around the neck? I always like seeing how people wear their wraps, shawls, etc.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

