New Sewing Center

Last week I did a major furniture shuffle just so I could set up a sewing area.

First I emptied the antique “ice box” which has been beautifully restored by Chris’ parents and I use to store table linens and candles and stuff along those lines. Then it was moved across the great room (in one swoop) by Chris and his 20″ forearms.

ice box

Then I partially emptied the full sized bookcase, I say partially because, yep, you guessed it, Mr. 20″ Forearms swooped in again and moved the whole dang thing…before I had finished emptying it!

bookcase & ironing board

I packed up about half of the books in a box…and tried to leave more space for sewing/crafting patterns/materials on the bookshelf instead.

Then, I moved the table from the front hall to the corner and placed it behind the couch and covered it with one of the flannel pieces that Chris wants me to make into Another set of pillowcases for him. (Like eight pillowcases aren’t enough???)

All this moving meant Chris had to get out the vacuum and clean up the dust bunnies in each of these places where things had formerly been. Which in turn causes the cats to go running for their lives (the vacuum cleaner is evil of the highest order to them). Due to my asthma/allergies Chris is the designated vacuum cleaner guy around here.

Finally, I dug up an old three way adjustable lamp and placed it by by table. And Chris decided that the table needed to have its middle board replaced, which required the office to be re-worked.
Why the office? Because the extra board had been doing duty as a shelf to hold the monitor and printer on top and the scanner underneath.

sewing table

Phew!!!  (wipes sweat of forehead)

Obviously, adjustments will need to be made as I give it a try.

Now, if I can just get back to the business of sewing.  Stuff is piling up!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

