On Travel

You don’t have to go far to travel. In fact, my favorite trips are from the sofa. Armchair Theater or Armchair Traveler it is sometimes called.

Where you sit and either read a book or watch a TV show about someone else who took a trip to somewhere else.

And you sort of go along for the ride, without any of the discomforts. Like, say, needing to go to the bathroom, or having a decent cup of coffee.  Just saying.

River City Bicycles

This week, I undertook the huge, dusty task of moving an entire wall bookcase and this slip of paper came to light. It is about travel writers and includes a quote from Charles Kuralt, who oddly enough, I’ve never read. Some years ago I wrote down this quote because it resonated with me, and today it still does.

“The good memories are all of stopping and staying awhile. I realize I’ve always driven too fast through life, carrying in my baggage too much impatience and apprehension, missing too many chances, passing too many good people in the dust.”
Charles Kuralt

Columbia River, Astoria

Also on that slip of paper was a list of travel writers:  Eric Newby, Paul Theroux, Freya Stark, Peter Mayle and Bill Bryson.  Perhaps I need to make a trip to the library with my list, and discover some new places.

three capes tour013_edited

Pictures taken from the top:  Eugene, Portland, Astoria and Cape Mears.

All trips taken within a day of home.  You don’t have to travel far from home to enjoy a trip away.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

