Old Trim Paint vs New Trim Paint

Chris and our neighbor, Bill have been trying out some new trim colors.
The old trim was barely darker than the house color, which of course, is gray.

(With Chris, if it ain’t blue or gray, forgettabout’ it, except for the secret longing for purple in the way of felted slippers.)

new trim color

Deciding on new trim colors is an work of epic magnitude.  First Chris must make multiple trips to the paint shops.  And come home with paint color chips that all look gray to me.   I argue for a dark, chocolate brown.  He picks up one paint chip called “Bittersweet”.

We then take long, looping drives, just looking at paint jobs on houses.  Every house Chris picks out is gray or some variation of gray.  Eventually, I tell him he can no longer tell me that the paint job he admires is gray…unless it is a different color.  He completely disregards my plea.

He comes home with some cans of paint.  And paints the garage door trim.  I like it, it is a color called “Pacific Wood” and it is a nice match with the stone work.

He doesn’t think it is gray enough.  He gets more paint.  And talks Bill into climbing the ladder and painting the trim on the peak.  It is dark slate gray.  He is happy.  He likes it.

Later, he tells me he listened to my advice.  I say something like, “WHAT!!!”  and he says, “Yea, you said it needed to be darker, and you were right, it looks better.”

Well…what I actually said was it needed more contrast.  And what I actually wanted was to steer him away from more gray!  SIGH.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

