Watercolor Art from the Archives

In case you didn’t know me by now, Tulips are my favorite flower.

I love their combination of simplicity + elegance and want to be just like one when I grow up.

What? I can’t be a flower?
What? I am already “grown up”?
Pooh!

This watercolor was learning to paint on gesso.  We painted the gesso on the board with brush strokes moving in different directions to add textural interest.   Then we were encouraged to watercolor based on those textures, mine reminded me of big leaves, so that’s what I painted on each side.

And then the tulip appeared.  It just wanted to be there.  There was no still life or picture used as the basis for this, it was entirely out of the imagination.

Personally, I think it looks like the kind of picture you see in model homes, you know the kind?  Where nobody lives?

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

