My Cheater Crib Quilt-To-Be

Mom and I had a Girl’s Day Out yesterday and the first thing we did was go visit Fabric Depot.  Mom is finishing a quilt and needed some batting and something to tie it with.

The next thing you know…Mom is asking me if I am going to make my sister’s “Coming Soon” baby a quilt.  Well, no, I hadn’t planned to…and then I saw this Pink Elephant.  How could I say no to it?

You see, when Melissa and I were very young, we had a crafty Great-Grandma that made us things…and one of the most beloved of all those things was a Pink Elephant.

It was a Stuffie made with felt and had, of all things, a belly button stitched on.  Melissa loved that Pink Elephant and carried it with her everywhere for years.  She still has it…somewhere.

So, you see why I had to do this?  Right?
Pink Elephants cannot be resisted, it is futile:)

crib quilt

This is what borders the top and bottom of the panel.

crib quilt

This is the Animal Alphabet part, above is the material for borders and backing.

I thought it would be fun to make a I-Spy Quilt, but this panel does it all for me, so why go to the trouble?

Maybe another time, because as everyone knows, going to Fabric Depot is a dangerous activity, and you never know what’s going hop into your cart:)

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

