Things that don’t work out

Lest you think for one minute that I have no knitting failures, here are some examples:

I was trying the Spiral Nebula Shawl with some BMFA STR yarn here, this is a really simple garter stitch pattern.  After getting this far, I looked at it and went, “Not so much” and frogged it.
However, I am making an attempt to record these things for prosperity…whatever the heck that means.
“For prosperity” just sounds good, doesn’t it?  I think so!

zig zag lace

There was this attempt at Zig Zag Lace, before it knew it wanted to be the Hollyday Whirled Shawlette.

triangle garter st lace shawl

triangle garter st lace shawl

There was this Brilliant Idea.  Make the Triangle Garter Stitch Lace Shawl from Folk Shawls but use two different colors of teal blue.  Sometimes Brilliant Ideas look better inside my head than they do in reality.

frogged shawl

This is my Creatively Dyed sock yarn that I thought would make a nice simple eyelet lace shoulder shawl…but it had other ideas.  It wanted to be a Super Sized Pasmina Cowl instead and its much happier now.

pashmina cowl

square shawl swatch

square shawl swatch

This is a second false start on a shawl with my coveted Chocolate Cherries Lace.  Some things just need time to simmer for a while, ya’ know?

And I am keeping these attempts to remind myself of the time I wasted spent learning something.   And to remember what doesn’t work.  Perhaps, maybe,  it will save me from trying the same thing again.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

