Not Just for Christmas Cookies

I thought I would try a-new-to-me Christmas cookie recipe I received last year from Dad and his “new” wife Patty.  While at the craft shop I picked up Orange gel concentrated food coloring and thought I would give it a whack.

Lately Orange has appealed to me in ways it never has before.  Its so fresh, bright, cheerful and orange-y!

Sugar Cookies:

3 cups Flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter flavor crisco or shortening

1/2 cup butter

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon almond extract

Mix all together the usual way, roll out, cut shapes, cook, cool and frost and decorate however you like.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

Now as usual I modified the recipe which told me to use 1 cup of “ole” which is an old fashioned name for shortening.

I like real butter flavor, but I don’t like a crumbly cookies, so I went for half and half and they turned out nice and sturdy with plenty of butter-y flavor.

Then I split the two teaspoons of vanilla into 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of almond extract.  Feel free to restore it to its original 2 tsp of vanilla and no almond extract if you like.

Enjoy:)


Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

