The Shack

Dad gave both Melissa and I a copy of this because it apparently is the best book ever.   He seldom gets excited about things like books, and I can’t recall that he has ever bought another brand new copy to give away, because it’s that good, so it must be…really good.

Now, I have to be honest and admit that I have really struggled to even read this book;  or to keep reading it and to pick it back up again after I came to a complete stop for weeks.

So, what I am reading is a conversation between the author’s version of God and the main character, who is really struggling with the whole “God” thing.

Or Faith, or belief.  Whatever you call it.  He is struggling with it.  I am struggling with it.  Really, aren’t we all?

Just like me.   Just like where I am at.  With so much disappointment and hurt, I often have trouble believing the whole “God is good” thing.   And then I doubt.   Boy, do I doubt.

Then I came to this conversation about a bird and the difference between the bird flying or not flying:

“It would be like this bird, whose nature it is to fly, choosing only to walk and remain grounded. He doesn’t stop being bird, but it does alter his experience of life significantly.”

He doesn’t stop being the bird…well, that got me, right there.  I could just here Him say to me, “Just as you haven’t stopped being Rebecca.”

Even with all the life altering crappy experiences? Even though I have been grounded?  Could barely walk even?  I am still Rebecca and I still possess the capability of flight.  EVEN though my life has been significantly altered!

Ok, so I bared my soul, don’t laugh, but it is a comfort to me to know that I am still Rebecca because I was afraid she was lost.  I was afraid she would be grounded for life, never fly again, never be fully Rebecca.

2 responses to “The Shack

  1. Tina Croft

    I am currently reading this book and like you I am having trouble reading it. I want God to be real to me and right now he seems to be nowhere to be found.

  2. ~Melissa

    Silly girl. As if YOU could stop being Rebecca… oh ye of little faith… tsk… ;P

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

