Just what am I doing?

When I tell people I’ve been painting my sister’s house, they have NO IDEA, what I mean.

So, for example, the above amber-glazed wall took most of week and nearly broke my wrist off.  Well, not really broke, but it was really, really sore for days after.

First, we take everything down off the wall, then we spackle the holes.  Don’t let my sister spackle:)

Then we wash down the walls to clean and de-gloss them.   Then I get to primer.  After the primer I paint two coats of cream paint.  Then I become “Mix Master” and custom mix the glaze color, a nice, warm amber or honey color is what Melissa wants.

So, I put in some of this, a little of that, more of the other, and mix it all about.  Spread a sample on the wall.  No, too orange.  Mix in something to tone it down.  Spread a sample on the wall.  MMM…it’s OK.  I think it needs some brown.

Mix in some brown, spread a sample on the wall.  Just right.  Like Goldilocks.

Right, now.  Paint back over all the samples.  Then start glazing.  Rub, rub, rub.  Rub, rub, rub.  You get the picture.

Repeat a second time.

Stand back.

Fill in some spots.

Admire.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

