Smashin’ Stashin’

New yarn stash, New knitting projects,
and Yes, I do have a big ol’ hole in my head!

Joanne came over with Clara Parkes new Book of Yarn and wanted to make the Linen Basket Liner for future gifting, only she needed help getting started. So I grab some linen from my stash, (which I just happened to have there, this is why you need a stash) and dug up the right sized needles and proceeded with casting on.

First Joanne tried with some Brittany DPN’s and the figure eight cast on. She ripped that attempt, then she tried the wrap method as pictured in one of my books, that went marginally better, but she still ripped it.

Did I forget to mention that Joanne is a perfectionist?

Then we tried the Magic loop cast on, and the cast on went fine, but the knitting thereof did not. She ripped that out too.

By now the yarn is looking, well, rather frayed, so I took it to the ball winder and re-wound it.

Then she asked if she could do it the way I had taught her with the fingerless gloves, the two needle method, so we began again, with the two needles. This time she kept going and I kept to the magic loop method and now we are officially making basket liners.

Of course there are other new yarns and projects, see for yourself:

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

