Not much to show for it

Here’s what I spent all day yesterday doing….

and those are the ones I didn’t despair of and rip out!

First I wanted to knit something bright and glorious and silky and I was inspired by Jane Sowerby’s Ruffled Fichu in Knitter’s Magazine/Fall 2007.

So I tried variations of that from my stash, browns and browns, blues and aquas, up a needle size, down a needle size, straights, circulars. I didn’t like any of them. Saved one swatch and took pix for the sake of proving that I did something.

Then I got out my Traditional Knitted Shawls book, and starting swatching for the triangular lace garter stitch shawl. Same results. I didn’t like any of them.

Thought about my Chocolate Cherries lace yarn I had custom dyed. Maybe I could swatch that, its in my queue after all, to make the Basic Black Shawl from Folk Shawls. So I drag that out and wind it up (1,600 yards of lace takes forever to wind, my arm ’bout fell off) and start knitting. First try is miserable, and I rip it. Second try I think I’m getting it, but now it is after 10PM and I am tired and can’t concentrate.

And I’m caught up in Cranston Place with Judi Dench, oops thats Dame Judy now. I just love anything with Dame Judy and think she deserves more awards than she has received. (Just saying:)

Anyhow, I think I like this last one. It just might stick around. If I could knit it large enough to actually see what the pattern would look like.

At least the yarn is yummy, in every sense of the word!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

