The Walnut Tree


Here’s the walnut tree that the squirrels like to visit on a regular basis. Very often if I look out the window to that side of the house, I’ll see a squirrel running along the top of the fence.

In the fall, this things loaded with walnuts, the neighbors and I harvest them and make various goodies with them. Once at Thanksgiving I made Derby Pies, which, given the name Derby, I am sure you can guess is named after the Kentucky Derby.

The Derby Pies turned out perfectly, but remained mostly untouched, as everyone seems to be hooked on my Rhubarb Custard pies and ate those all gone. (so I was forced to finish them off myself…sigh, the things I have to do! they’re best warmed up with a dollop of freshly made whipping cream. at least, thats how I ate mine:)

Easter is fast approaching, and already I have been asked to make Rhubard Custard pies, as my contribution to Easter Dinner. I wonder what is so appealing about pie? I have never yet met a man who didn’t swoon over homemade pies! I swear, I’ve turned down marriage proposals, based on the fact that I can bake a good pie. Well, that and other goodies, something about my chocolate chip cookies (recipe is posted) has them coming back for more, too.

This leaves me convinced that love is not a matter of the heart, it is a matter of the tummy, like Winnie-the-Pooh always feels a little “ll o’clockish” (which is English tea time). Or perhaps you can relate better to Scooby Doo, who is always ready and willing to have a little “scooby snack”. Either way, its about the tummy.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Most read

